## **RHODE ISLAND § 16-3.1-7** Newport County regional special education

**program.** – Notwithstanding the provisions of any general or special law to the contrary, the school committees of the towns of Middletown, Portsmouth, Tiverton, and Little Compton are collaboratives or cooperative service areas. education programs and diagnostic services required by law or regulation, and related functions, through participation in the Newport County regional special education program and, for that purpose, to assign and delegate to their respective school committee chairs or designee or superintendents of schools or designee, acting as a regional board duties, responsibilities, and powers as the committees may deem necessary or desirable for the conduct, administration, and management of the regional special education program. In matters pertaining to the regional special education program, the regional board shall constitute and act as the school board referred to in chapter 24 of this title. § 16-3.1-8 Regional center collaborative – Northern Rhode Island. – Notwithstanding the provisions of any general or special law to the contrary, the school committees of the cities and towns of Lincoln, Cumberland, Pawtucket, Central Falls, Woonsocket, Smithfield, North Smithfield, North Providence, Johnston, Foster, Glocester, Foster-Glocester regional school district, and Burrillville are authorized and empowered to continue and/or initiate cooperative efforts to provide special education programs and diagnostic services required by law or regulation, to utilize technology, including without limitation television, to provide limited interest curriculum, and to provide programs for the gifted and talented, all on a collaborative basis. The various school committees may assign and delegate to their respective school committee chairs or designee or superintendents of schools or designee, acting as a regional board, any duties, responsibilities, and powers that the committees may deem necessary for the conduct, administration, and management of the regional center collaborative of northern Rhode Island. § 16-3.1-9 **Regional collaborative.** – Notwithstanding the provisions of any general or special law to the contrary, the school committees of the towns and school districts of Westerly, New Shoreham, Chariho regional school district, Narragansett, Jamestown, South Kingstown, North Kingstown, East Greenwich, and the Exeter-West Greenwich regional school district are authorized and empowered to continue and/or initiate cooperative efforts to provide services included but not limited to special education programs and diagnostic services required by law or regulation; to utilize technology without restriction; to provide limited interest curriculum; and to provide programs for the gifted and talented, all on a collaborative basis. The intent of the regional collaborative is to provide the opportunity for all children to receive educational services locally. The various school committees may assign and delegate to their respective school committee chairs or designee or superintendents of schools or designee, acting as a regional board, any duties, responsibilities and powers that the committees may deem necessary for the conduct, administration, and management of the regional collaborative - southern Rhode Island. A bylaw committee shall be named by the commission to study the feasibility of creating a south county regional network center to provide multiple services for students with disabilities. The committee's membership should consist of three (3) special education directors, three (3) superintendents, three (3) parents, and two (2) other interested persons from the participating towns and school districts and any other person that the governing regional board may deem necessary. This regionalized collaborative shall enjoy any regionalized bonus aid wherever applicable to § 16-3.1-9.1 Regional collaborative -

West Bay Rhode Island. – Notwithstanding the provisions of any general or special law to the contrary, the school committees of the towns and school districts of West Warwick, Providence, Warwick, Coventry, Cranston, Scituate, Foster-Glocester regional school district, Foster, and Glocester are authorized and empowered to study and/or continue and/or initiate cooperative efforts to provide services included but not limited to special education programs and diagnostic services required by law or regulation; to utilize technology without restriction; to provide limited interest curriculum; and to provide programs for the gifted and talented, all on a collaborative basis in an effort to improve efficiency and cost effectiveness. The intent of the regional collaborative is to provide the opportunity for all children to receive educational services locally. The various school committees may assign and delegate to their respective school committee chairs or designee or superintendents of schools or designee, acting as a regional board any duties, responsibilities and powers that the committees may deem necessary for the conduct. administration and management of the regional collaborative – West Bay Rhode Island. § 16-3.1-10 Regional center collaborative - East Bay educational collaborative. -Notwithstanding the provisions of any general or special law to the contrary, the school committees of the cities and towns of Barrington, Bristol, East Providence, Little Compton, Middletown, Newport, Portsmouth, Tiverton, and Warren are authorized and empowered to continue and/or initiate cooperative efforts to provide educational programs and/or services on a collaborative basis. The various school committees may assign and delegate to their respective school committee chairs or designee or superintendents of schools or designee, acting as a regional board of directors, any duties, responsibilities, and powers that the committees may deem necessary for the conduct, administration, and management of the East Bay educational collaborative. § 16-3.1-11 Urban collaborative. - Notwithstanding the provisions of any general or special law to the contrary, the school committees of the cities of Providence, Pawtucket, East Providence, Central Falls and other Rhode Island school districts as may be approved for inclusion by existing member districts in accordance with collaborative bylaws are authorized and empowered to continue and/or initiate cooperative efforts to provide alternate education programs and/or diagnostic services required by law or regulation for students achieving limited success in traditional settings and to do all things necessary including, but not limited to utilization of technology, including television, all on a collaborative basis. The various school committees may assign and delegate to their respective school committee chairs or designee or superintendents of schools or designee, acting as a regional board any duties, responsibilities, and powers that the committees may deem necessary for the conduct, administration, and management of the urban collaborative